Where is your political compass?


Concepts of “left” and “right” in politics are increasingly meaningless. Nothing is that linear or simple. So I found this test from Political Compass very interesting. As well as the traditional left and right horizontal scale, it also measures vertically from libertarian to authoritarian, allowing for a more complex understanding of political opinion.

Obviously nothing can plot these things exactly, but it was interesting to see where I came out after answering the questions: virtually bang in the middle of the left to right scale, with libertarian leanings. Almost exactly where I would have placed myself if asked outright. The Realist, meanwhile, came out more to the left with stronger libertarian instincts. Those “string ’em all up!” rants of his must be caused by the beer then.

I’d be interested to know where our readers (yes, all three of you) come out on this. Please give it a go and give us feedback about the outcome. It only takes 5-10 minutes. If I’m feeling particularly geeky I might even plot all the outcomes onto one graph so we can all see where we stand.

Take the test!

Centrist. Atlanticist. Dry liberal. Anti-totalitarian. Post-ideological pragmatist. Child of The Enlightenment. Toucan.

Tagged with:
Posted in Uncategorized
14 comments on “Where is your political compass?
  1. Andrew Brown says:

    Just about between the two of you:

    Economic Left/Right: -1.50
    Social Libertarian/Authoritarian: -5.74

  2. Sam says:

    Economic Left/Right: -3.38
    Social Libertarian/Authoritarian: -2.26

    Good to know.

  3. ph says:

    Economic left/right -1.63
    Social/Authoritarian -0.77

    But I am the most right wing authoritarian person that I know.
    aaaahhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!

  4. the thin white duke says:

    Economic L/R -0.75
    Lib Auth -5.85

    Bloody hell I am a lefty, that took me by surprise. My Libertarian credentials have never been in doubt but a lefty!!!
    Mind you I was listening to Led Zeppelin at the time. Would that make a difference??
    The Duke

  5. Anonymous says:

    Far lower right corner of authoritarian box.

    Did anyone else have some question about the questions or feel boxed into an issue they do not necessarily suppor? dw

  6. Anonymous says:

    scuse me, lower right corner of the left side authoritarian box,

  7. Steve says:

    Economic Left/Right: 0.88
    Social Libertarian/Authoritarian: -5.03

  8. Citizeness Sane says:

    Economic Left/Right: -6.13
    Social Libertarian/Authoritarian: -3.49

  9. Joe says:

    Economic Left/Right: -9.13
    Social Libertarian/Authoritarian: -7.90

  10. tafka PP says:

    Economic Left/Right: -3.50
    Social Libertarian/Authoritarian: -4.10

    I guess you can take the girl out of the Sociology Department…

  11. Anonymous says:

    Don’t know about you guys but I’m gonna take that test again and make myself a conservative.

  12. Anonymous says:

    I’m gutted, as a Conservative voter I hoped to be somewhere in the upper right. However, I have come in at a shameful -1.25 and -3.54. That probably puts me on a par with Prescott or Red Ken!

    GB

  13. Hobbzee says:

    Here’s mine
    Your political compass
    Economic Left/Right: -1.25
    Social Libertarian/Authoritarian: -3.49

    I am somewhat surprised by the outcome of my test considering I am in favour of bringing back hanging, public flogging and national service! what’s going on? I expected to be cosying up to Hitler (or at least Friedman) but I am only just cosying up to Citizen Zane and he’s a big wet leftie if ever there was one 😉 even if he’s marked on the map as otherwise.

  14. Citizen Sane says:

    Ok Hobbzee, you’re on there. Sure is crowded on the moderate libertarian left.

    Bloody lefties!

Leave a Reply

Citizen Sane
Citizen Sane
Archives
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,304 other followers

