Where we all stand. . .


So here we all are then on the Political Compass. I am shocked and horrified to see that both PH and DW are more left wing than me (economically, at least). Although I did the test again this morning and came out a little more to the left than originally. I can only assume that having a hangover makes a man more of a leftie.

Thanks to all who took part, it was interesting to see. I’ll add any other newcomers to the chart as and when they do it.

(Additional: the image is much easier to view if you click on it for an expanded version.)

Key: CS = Citizen Sane; Cess S = Citizeness Sane; TR = The Realist; PH = PH; DW = DW; S = Sam; AB = Andrew Brown; TWD = Thin White Duke; St = Steve; J = Joe; LJ = Laura; McC = mAc Chaos; GB = GB; R = Ravi; PP = Artist Formerly Known As Purple Parrot; G = Graeme; H = Hobbzee

Centrist. Atlanticist. Dry liberal. Anti-totalitarian. Post-ideological pragmatist. Child of The Enlightenment. Toucan.

Tagged with:
Posted in Uncategorized
20 comments on “Where we all stand. . .
  1. Steve says:

    Jeez-o… I’m the only one on the right!

  2. Citizen Sane says:

    Indeed. Quite strange how it’s all turned out really. I’m more right wing than I thought I’d be. I’m really quite disappointed. Still, next time I get flack from PH or DW about something or other, I shall just dismiss them both as commie pinko nutters!

  3. Laura says:

    Am i on there?

  4. Laura says:

    Sweet Lord… I’ve only just realised. DW is more left wing than you?

  5. Anonymous says:

    Laura, that thing has to be wrong.

    And i’m not a latant commie pinko nutter, Im just unstable, that’s a clinical state and has nothing to do with politics.
    dw

  6. laura says:

    DW. I demand that you change the name you use from DW to commie pinko nutter. please? Imagine how it would confuse new readers when they read your name, then your content.

  7. Citizen Sane says:

    He’s not more left than me. Well, he is and he isn’t. Remember, the left to right scale refers only to economic outlook. Perhaps DW favours trade protectionism or a more regulated market, or more statist intervention in the economy. He can still be a conservative and believe these things. Doesn’t make him left wing (in the most commonly understood sense, anyway) at all.

  8. ph says:

    I can only conclude that it is a poorly constructed test.
    Fo rexample in the question about abortion I found myself on the liberal side due to the phrasing of the question, but I am sure that my thoughts on abortion are quite different to Citizen Sane’s for example. So the test did not differentiate are ‘probably’ stongly differeing views. To think I am well to the left of Gerard Shroeder is also very odd

  9. PH says:

    Looks as though DW and I are the most balanced, and many of your contributors are screaming extremists.

  10. Citizen Sane says:

    Well, it’s never going to be an exact science. I can only say that I came out roughly where I expected and that everyone had to answer the same questions. So, in a relative sense, we get a rule of thumb indication of where we are in relation to each other at least.

    Our (probable) difference of opinion on something like abortion is reflected in the fact that you’re way higher up the authoritarian scale than me. As is DW.

  11. mAc Chaos says:

    You guys are so… far to the left.

    That quiz is an old classic. It has some questions which are ambiguously phrased, and some others which attempt to box you in, but overall, it’s a good quiz as compared to other ones. Here’s a simpler one that’s known throughout the web.

    I disliked how it forced you to answer one way, completely. Some issues don’t necessarily have an unequivocal answer…

  12. Citizen Sane says:

    Cool, I will check it out.

    I guess ambiguously phrased questions that force an answer one way or the other are an occupational hazard for any kind of opinion canvassing.

  13. mAc Chaos says:

    Yeah, so it’s a matter of finding one that has these factors occur within it the least rather than one which doesn’t have them at all. Political compass is a good one for that reason.

    Here are my results, by the way:
    Economic Left/Right: 9.50
    Social Libertarian/Authoritarian: 2.97

    Apparently I’ve become less libertarian as time has gone on.

  14. Citizen Sane says:

    Well that’s good. At least it shows it is possible to produce a right wing result on that test.

    “All true conservatives (like all true liberals) are fundamentally libertarian. Discuss.”

  15. Anonymous says:

    When taking these tests I immediately saw the ambiguity mAc pointed out. So in contemplating how I might best choose an answer that wouldn’t paint me a color I am not I ended up reasessing some of my views and am not sure what I am anymore other that pissd off. Scuse me, my therapists is hacking.

    commie pinko nutter

  16. Anonymous says:

    No one wants government running the whole show yet government is a necessary evil! We all share a common seed but we sprout all over eachother.

    pinko commie nutter

  17. Anonymous says:

    hey mAc, your simpler test put me right where I want to be.

  18. Citizen Sane says:

    Which is where?

  19. Anonymous says:

    Can’t say until I consult with my therapist. AWE HELL I am conservative yet you guys are ****me up. I feel so much more comfortable at mAc’s place. Be glad when Realists gets back.

  20. Anonymous says:

    Well laura I took your advice and posted as ‘commie pinko nutter’ in some places. My views did not change with the name but responses to me did change. That name really pisses people off, even Commies.

    Well I got mad back and ended up arguing against things I actually agreed with and then they called me names I liked but they didn’t know that so I played the devil’s advocate so I could get called more names and ended up inadvertantly agreeing with myself and calling myself names and then my therapists knocked and saved me. I told you I was unstable but now I am permenatly unbalance. I am very astute and posess an uncanny ability to asess the nature of others and am warning all my friend never to trust anyone named laura.
    dw

Leave a Reply

Citizen Sane
Citizen Sane
  • RT @AhirShah: Strange to think that before Trump we had no idea what it would be like if an 18th century monarch with tertiary syphilis had… 7 hours ago
  • RT @TechnicallyRon: Today's copy of 'The Daily Mail but with all the headlines replaced with real (yeah real) user comments' is... oh god.… 20 hours ago
  • Artist's impression of Julian Assange, yesterday. https://t.co/hzspYlEoNW 23 hours ago
  • RT @JulianAssange: At 13:48 yesterday police surveillance looks at me and makes a gun sign. Whether threatening to shoot me or shoot himsel… 23 hours ago
  • RT @mmegannnolan: Mac encountering party characterised by terrifyingly puritan archaism: *THINKING SO HARD HE SOILS HIMSELF* nngh Irish peo… 1 day ago
Archives
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,304 other followers

