We’re not scaremongering, this Israeli happening

There’s really only one story of major significance at the moment, and that’s the situation in the Middle East, where Israel is now engaged in military operations on two fronts following the kidnapping of three Israeli soldiers – one in Gaza and two by Lebanese based Hezbollah. The Israeli reaction has been unrelenting and many civilian lives have been lost in a number of air raids. Meanwhile, rockets continue to be fired from Lebanon into Israel.

I would like to write something about this but. . . I just don’t feel qualified to do so.

H? Parrot? Perhaps one of you could summarise the situation for us? Although I suspect you’re probably struggling to make sense of it all too.

If one of you has the time or inclination to do so, I’d like to put up a guest post from one – or both – of you. You’ll find my email address under my Blogger profile. Alternatively, write something in the comments section and I’ll publish it.

Centrist. Atlanticist. Dry liberal. Anti-totalitarian. Post-ideological pragmatist. Child of The Enlightenment. Toucan.

Tagged with:
Posted in Uncategorized
6 comments on “We’re not scaremongering, this Israeli happening
  1. Devil's Advocate says:

    Does that top ‘How do you solve a problem like Sharia?’ – it’s a close call

  2. Citizen Sane says:

    Oooh, I dunno. T’was a good one though. And a play on a Radiohead lyric to boot.

  3. tafka PP says:

    Would be very happy to, although it might take a while: I’m applying gentle pressure to H, he’s better at this than me, but right now he’s a little busy trying to avoid missiles.

    I’ll also try to send you some other points of view from other bloggers/folks, if you want…

  4. Citizen Sane says:

    Anything would be good. Totally understand if it’s not feasible though. Be safe!

  5. H says:

    Um, not actually trying to avoid missiles myself – I am safely tucked up in snuggly old Jerusalem with 120,000 Palestinians in the same city as me, guaranteeing my safety as it were. Rather I am a tad busy organising what the bollocks to do with 300 16 yr olds who were supposed to be having a fun old time on the shores of lake Galilee next week and now will not be.

    So when ihave a chance to breathe, I’ll try and write something.

    H

  6. dwfdmmpppk says:

    I think Israel knew Hezbollah was bringing in weapons and growing strong in Lebonon. Don’t see how they can defeat a stateless army that can flee next doo. BTW Hezbollah has thousands of trained men in Lebonon and the death tolls we are hearing hardly dents their numbers. I’d like to hear opinions also.

Leave a Reply

Citizen Sane
Citizen Sane
Archives
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,305 other followers

