So far, I’ve not really stayed in touch…

My, how time flies when you’re busy existing. Here we are in the middle of July already. 2009 is hurtling along with a relentless pace and unless I do something soon I won’t have published a single word to my modest blog in nearly a year. I attempted to rectify this situation back in April – I have two posts sat at Draft status to attest to this – but I made the mistake of trying to summarise my thoughts on the major events since I last wrote something in September 2008, ending up with a rambling, pointless missive of no use to anyone, least of all me.

So it becomes a vicious circle: the desire to write is crushed by the uncertainty of where to begin. I would sit there staring at a blank screen, desperately thinking of a way to resurrect the blogging bug and each time just giving up and doing something pointless like updating my status on Facebook (probably the biggest collective waste of time in human history, yet, like scratching an itchy arse, irresistible), or clicking idly through BBC News or even Comment Is Free for inspiration. After an hour of this I would just give up completely.

Mrs Sane (now an official moniker, as we got married last October) would constantly encourage me to write again, as would the (very) few other people who somehow enjoy my witterings. But it just wasn’t happening.

Then I had an epiphany. It was a simple, yet transformative revelation: I would just… write. Never mind what’s happened over the last ten months, I would just publish and be damned. So that’s what I’m going to do.

Centrist. Atlanticist. Dry liberal. Anti-totalitarian. Post-ideological pragmatist. Child of The Enlightenment. Toucan.

Tagged with:
Posted in Uncategorized
7 comments on “So far, I’ve not really stayed in touch…
  1. Sam says:

    Well done. And good luck. I find myself in the same place it seems. I hope the words come easily to us both. 🙂

  2. Mrs Sane says:

    Good to have you back mister x

  3. ph says:

    Better say what you have to say before the babies arrive

  4. Citizen Sane says:

    Which isn’t much time as our first born is officially due on Jan 2nd….

  5. ph says:

    congratulations! Then in 3 years time you will move to Bromley, start going to church, start voting Tory and the transformation will be complete!!!!!

  6. Citizen Sane says:

    Well, you’re going to laugh but…. we moved to Bromley in August, so the transformation is well underway! As for going to church or voting Tory. Hmmm.

  7. ph says:

    I’m in the wrong business – I should restyle myself as Gypsy Rose.
    Nearly everyone in South London with a baby moves to Bromley, the place is bursting with children – which is great. Its quite possible that your nearest primary school will be C. of E., but don’t worry most have entry criteria based on where you live, not the parents level of faith. Actually there is not much point voting in Bromley as the Tories always get in. Even I vote Lib. Dem. just out of the need to feel rebellious.

Leave a Reply

Citizen Sane
Citizen Sane
Archives
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,305 other followers

