Facebook: neither saviour nor Satan

I signed up to Facebook in 2007 (under my real name, not my blogging pseudonym) along with virtually everyone else I know. I go through periods of despising the damn thing, yet I still check in most days to see what people are up to. It is useful for staying in touch with friends and relatives, especially if they live far away or you just don’t see them very often. For the most part my list of ‘friends’ is just that: people I genuinely know or am related to. My privacy settings are set to a level that ensures I cannot be found by anyone I don’t want to find me – in particular I would not want to be accessible to work colleagues, for example. I cannot understand how some people have over 500 ‘friends’: they are either spectacularly popular social butterflies or request the friendship of random people they meet in the street.

So in short, I’m a casual user who frequently finds it irritating but occasionally useful. I don’t love it, but nor do I follow the line that it’s doing the work of Satan. Ultimately it is a free-to-use application and people should be wary of how they use it and who they use it with. Just like anything else in this life.

Time magazine made Facebook founder and übergeek Mark Zuckerburg their ‘Person Of The Year’ for 2010 which was kind of ridiculous as, if he was ever to have been considered eligible for this award, it should have been a couple of years ago when Facebook was at the peak of its cultural significance. Nowadays I think most people are really rather indifferent to it. It’s not going to go the same way as Friends Reunited (remember that?), but it’s now a mundane part of the internet furniture. A coffee table, say. It’s just there, doing what it does. No more, no less.

Twitter, on the other hand, is far more interesting.

Centrist. Atlanticist. Dry liberal. Anti-totalitarian. Post-ideological pragmatist. Child of The Enlightenment. Toucan.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Citizen Sane
Citizen Sane
  • RT @AhirShah: Strange to think that before Trump we had no idea what it would be like if an 18th century monarch with tertiary syphilis had… 7 hours ago
  • RT @TechnicallyRon: Today's copy of 'The Daily Mail but with all the headlines replaced with real (yeah real) user comments' is... oh god.… 20 hours ago
  • Artist's impression of Julian Assange, yesterday. https://t.co/hzspYlEoNW 23 hours ago
  • RT @JulianAssange: At 13:48 yesterday police surveillance looks at me and makes a gun sign. Whether threatening to shoot me or shoot himsel… 23 hours ago
  • RT @mmegannnolan: Mac encountering party characterised by terrifyingly puritan archaism: *THINKING SO HARD HE SOILS HIMSELF* nngh Irish peo… 1 day ago
Archives
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,304 other followers

