Just WRITE SOMETHING!

Mrs Sane has compelled me to return to blogging. It didn’t require a great deal of pressure to be honest, because I miss it enormously and I’ve been toying with the idea for a while now but it was nice to receive the (metaphorical) jab in the kidneys and the order to get into the office (well, I say office, it’s now the domain of the Little Sanes who treat it much like the Wehrmacht treated the Russian Front) and WRITE SOMETHING.

So here I am. Writing something. And I’m rusty. Rustier than a rusty nail on a particularly rusty day. I tried to explain that I can’t just write something at the drop of a hat, there’s not a button I can press marked ‘Witty and informative blog post generator’ but she wasn’t having any of it. In fact, just to make a point she picked up a hat and dropped it, then shoved me in here and locked the door and said I’m not allowed to come out again until I’ve written something.

It isn’t easy to just spew forth words. I’m too used to Twitter these days – 140 characters (including spaces) to play with – so having to actually write sentences, paragraphs, doesn’t come naturally anymore. But that’s why I’m here – I’m battling through this in lieu of having anything in particular to talk about. Of course there is plenty to talk about: Algeria, Mali, Barack Obama, Michael Winner, horse meat, the bloody weather. But where do you begin when you haven’t blogged regularly for years?

I suppose you begin here: writing a stream-of-consciousness that nobody will ever read because this isn’t worth publishing. And back at my old blog again, too. I started Mind Trumpet because I wanted to make a fresh start and that worked OK for a while but I’ve been blogging under the pseudonym of Citizen Sane for nearly eight years now and regularly tweet under this name so I guess I’m sticking with it. Makes sense for these ramblings to be on the blog of the same name too. Branding and all that. Plus having looked again at WordPress I have to say it’s a really nice blogging tool with some great looking templates so why not just give it another spin? I’ll import all the posts from Mind Trumpet over here and then that’s nearly everything I’ve ever blogged all in one place. Plus, as my mate Les never tired of reminding me: Mind Trumpet is a blatant rip off of the Armando Ianucci show ‘Time Trumpet‘, which was never a conscious decision but, yes, OK Les: you win. It’s going. Happy now?

So there it is and here I am and there you are. I’m going to post this bugger and off we go again. Carpe diem and all that. Or carpet diem – seize the carpet, and give it a damn good shake. It’s good to be back.

I’m going to hit that ‘Publish’ button. Oh yes I am. Here we go…..

Centrist. Atlanticist. Dry liberal. Anti-totalitarian. Post-ideological pragmatist. Child of The Enlightenment. Toucan.

Tagged with:
Posted in Uncategorized
One comment on “Just WRITE SOMETHING!
  1. Mrs Sane says:

    Nice to have you back. Now keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

Citizen Sane
Citizen Sane
Archives
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,304 other followers

